Why Permanent Notes Are The Key To Your Longevity As A Creator

How The “Writing Inbox Method” Can 10x Your Writing Output

Ev Chapman
7 min readFeb 8, 2022

Every morning I sit down at my desk to write.

Not an article or a thread or a tweet. But just for myself. Writing helps me think, formulate ideas, & understand the world.

And my writing inbox is the first place I start each day.

Photo by Dan Counsell on Unsplash

In 2020 I read the book How To Take Smart Notes & was diligently taking feeding notes and ‘processing’ them into my Zettelkasten. OK, when I say diligently, I was every now and then thinking I have too many notes piling up, I need to process them 😱.

It was more anxiety-driven than a writing process I enjoyed

Then I happened to come across a Livestream of Andy Matuschak’s note-making session and I was totally inspired. Every session he starts with his writing inbox picks a few notes and lets his thoughts flow. He didn’t seem all that worried about getting ‘all the notes’ processed. He was just writing and thinking. Thinking and writing.

--

--

Ev Chapman

I help idea-driven professionals build personal knowledge systems that amplify their thinking so they can create the kind of ideas others want to collect.