Ditch The Habit, Embrace The Practice: Watch Your Writing Transform

How to Achieve Unstoppable Writing Consistency (No Habits Required)

Ev Chapman
4 min readApr 28, 2024

I’ve always had a bit of a problem with the word habit. Something about it always feels off to me.

Maybe because of all the times I’ve failed at building habits 😬

A practice on the other hand. Sounds more fun, more playful, more experimental. Like something I could fail but still be proud of my progress because I’m ‘practicing.’

Photo by Rafael Leão on Unsplash

Kurt Vonnegut puts it WAY more elegantly than I do:

Practice any art, no matter how well or how badly. Not to get money or fame, but to experience becoming, to find out what’s inside you, to make your soul grow.

It’s why I treat my daily writing as a practice rather than a habit.

Every morning I sit down, choose an idea then start writing & exploring.

Not to produce any particular content. But to find out what’s inside me (& unlock it from the depths of my brain)

If the only time you’re sitting down to write is when you need to publish something — you’ll always be scrambing for content…

--

--

Ev Chapman

Founder The ✨Spark Method™ & Tana Fast Track // Turn Your Personal Knowledge Into Powerful Ideas that increase your income, opportunities & authority.