I had tried all the methods and had almost completely given up

The Journaling Method For People Who Suck At Journaling

Ev Chapman
4 min readFeb 12, 2022
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

I suck at journaling. There I Said It.

I have literally tried everything. Fancy notebooks, journaling prompts, morning pages, journaling at night before I went to bed (failed badly at this), journaling apps, gratitude lists….

I almost gave up.

Until 6 months ago when I discovered a whole new way of journaling that changed everything for me. And I haven’t skipped a day since. I call it incremental journaling, which is my fairly liberal take on interstitial journaling.

What The Heck Is Incremental Journaling?

Sitting down to journal at a specific time just didn’t work for me. Maybe it’s my rebellious nature, but it just felt awkward sitting down to answer some random prompts in my journal.

And the harder it felt for me, the less I would do it. Now with Incremental Journaling, it happens all throughout the day. So it feels less like a heavy lift and more just a lot of quick notes throughout the day.

Plus, even if I only write one small thing throughout the day, I’ve won. And I never feel bad about missing my journal writing time.

--

--

Ev Chapman

Personal Knowledge Coach. I Help Solopreneurs Turn Their Personal Knowledge into Profitable Ideas with a Tailored System That Transforms How They Think & Create