How Atomic Essays Finally Made Me A Consistent Writer

Why Atomic Writing Is The One Medium Every New Creator Needs To Master

Ev Chapman
6 min readJul 9, 2022
Photo by Nayanika Mukherjee on Unsplash

28th March 2021 was the day I really started writing seriously online. I had dabbled before that for 10 years on various projects from blogs to vlogs, podcasts & everything in between.

Looking back, I’ve always had an innate desire to output creatively in the world.

Except I was never able to stick with any of them. Every time I started a new project I would be excited at first and then either run out of steam or get bored and give up — discarding the project to the familiar graveyard of my other creative projects.

But in 2021 I found a new medium and everything changed.

January 2021 I was knee-deep in a brand new blog project that was not going well already. One day while I was scrolling on Twitter I started seeing these small image-based essays. They were a simple screenshot of a few hundred words and they felt like they were EVERYWHERE (thankyou Twitter algorithm).

I consumed one and then another and another. They were practical, useful and really easy to read. And I eventually followed the trail of essays back to a guy called Dickie Bush.

--

--

Ev Chapman

Personal Knowledge Coach. I Help Solopreneurs Turn Their Personal Knowledge into Profitable Ideas with a Tailored System That Transforms How They Think & Create